Now is Good.

Just because life hands you lemons doesn't mean you have to suck.

Out of the Mouths of Babes, #2. February 23, 2010

Filed under: 3 kids,Childhood,Motherhood,TV — nowisgoodblog @ 8:55 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Amelia is OBSESSED with Diego right now.  It’s the first bit of television that has captured her interest, and she’s pretty much all Diego all the time (with a smidge of Dora thrown in).  She wakes up asking to watch Diego and she goes to sleep asking if she can watch Diego tomorrow.  I don’t let her watch every time she asks, but I’ll admit to using the television as a babysitter on occasion.  Sue me.

Each of my kids has had a first television obsession.  As a self-proclaimed TV junkie, I get it.  Television is an escape.  It’s easy.  It’s relaxing.  It’s a way to turn your mind off (and for me, that’s quite often a good thing).  For Owen, it was the Backyardigans.  For Avery, it was The Wiggles.  When Avery was 4, she looked like this:

One day she was watching an episode of The Wiggles that prominently featured Henry the Octopus.

Avery:

I don’t think that’s a real octopus, because if he was real he would be squirting ink on the Wiggles and he wouldn’t be talking like that, so I don’t think he’s a real octopus.

Me: 

I think you’re right.

Avery: 

(Long pause … ) I wonder if the Wiggles know that?

 

3 Responses to “Out of the Mouths of Babes, #2.”

  1. Sarah Says:

    She’s so wise. And thoughtful. Almost like she wants to let the Wiggles know so they aren’t fooled. “I’ll admit to using the television as a babysitter on occasion.” Only on occasion? Seriously? You are a much better parent than I. Alex is obsessed with Batman – the one that’s on Friday night (we DVR it) and Phineas & Ferb. I LOVE P&F! Do they watch that?

  2. Linda Says:

    ah, sweet Avery…I loved her at that stage too. So happy you kept a record of her cute thoughts…there couldn’t have been a more perfect first grandchild!

  3. Caroline Says:

    HA! I remember that. She never ceases to amaze me. Never.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 131 other followers